It’s finally here!
The new Batchbook Droid App is available for free in the Android Market. I’m personally a big fan of Android phones, and got to help out with some of the testing, which is good because I’m also one of the folks fielding customer support questions – so if you run into any problems or have questions about it you can email us at firstname.lastname@example.org and we’ll help you out.
The app is similar to the iPhone app but does have one major difference. With the Droid app, you have the ability to sync records of a particular tag. You can find which contacts you would like to sync to the Droid, tag them, then sync with just that tag. The app has a limit of 3000 contacts which will sync to your phone, so if you do have a ton of records in your account it would be a good idea to tag the ones you need most when you are on the go. I’d suggest a “Record Last Updated” or “Record Communicated With” Advanced search to quickly grab the contacts you’ve been dealing with lately.
You have the ability to add/edit/delete new or existing Contacts, To-Dos, and Deals. The Communications aren’t on the app, but if you press the blue Batchbook icon from the View Contact screen displayed here you can quickly see all of your Communications on the full version of the site. Then just press the back arrow button on your phone, and you’ll go back to the app for that icon.
Here are a few tips that will hopefully help get you organizing your mobile contacts:
- When logging in you’ll be asked for your account name, you don’t need the full URL. My URL for example is: https://billpasnau.batchbook.com/. My account name is just “billpasnau”.
- It may take a while for your contacts to sync, especially if you have a lot of them. You’ll see a dialog when the sync has started and another one once completed.
- If you need a re-sync, just use the back arrow to back out of the app then open it back up. Only your changed records will be synced back to the app. Changes you make in the App or on Batchbook will sync with each other.
- If you create a To-Do on the app and assign it to someone else you will not be able to view it. You can only see To-Dos that are assigned to you, even if you created them. However, if someone assigns you a To-Do, it will show up on the app.